Donny Hathaway – Voices Inside (Everything Is Everything)

A tune to brighten up this New Year’s Eve afternoon.

Donny Hathaway’s Live album is one of the best two or three live soul albums ever to grace anyone’s turntable, and would easily make it into the top 20 live albums ever.

My selection here is the simply stunning version of Voices Inside (Everything Is Everything). For the recording of this album Donny had a some great musicians and on this track they all get the chance to flex their funk and soul muscles to the max.

There’s nothing not to like about this tune, played with style, passion and heartfelt soul.

And just to prove you don’t need great lyrics to produceĀ  great song, I’ve reproduced the lyrics to demonstrate simplicity is sometimes best.

Let’s get down now

I hear voices, I see people
I hear voices of many people
(Oh, yeah)
I hear voices, I see people
I hear voices of many people

Sayin’ everything is everything
Yeah, oh, yeah

I hear voices, I see people
I hear voices of many people
(Oh, yeah)
I hear voices, I see people
I hear voices of many people

Yeah, they’re sayin’
Everything is everything
(Oh yeah, shut up)
Let me do my [Incomprehensible]

Everything is everything
Everything is everything
(Yeah)
Everything is everything
Everything is everything
(Yes, it is)

Everything is everything
(Yes, it is)
Everything is everything
(You gotta believe it now)

Everything is everything
(Don’t you know now)
I say everything is everything
Oh, yeah

Everything is everything
Everything is everything
Everything is everything
Everything is everything

Leave a Reply

